Alumni Teaching Fellow Award

You are here: Home / Awards / Alumni Teaching Fellow Award

General Information

This award, made possible by the Penn State Alumni Association, the Undergraduate Student Government, and the Graduate Student Association, recognizes distinguished teaching and provides a forum for encouraging effective teaching. Three awards will be presented. No more than two may be given to University Park faculty members.


To be considered for the Alumni Teaching Fellow Award, faculty members must have:

  • A full-time appointment at Penn State
  • A tenured appointment (typically with an academic rank of associate professor or professor)
  • A minimum of three years teaching experience at Penn State
  • Undergraduate teaching as a primary responsibility

Research faculty, administrators, and those who primarily teach graduate students are not eligible for these awards.

Recipients will be asked to share their talents and expertise with others throughout the University system. Year-long responsibilities may include such activities as participating in workshops and symposia, giving lectures or presentations on teaching techniques for new faculty and graduate assistants, taking part in discussions or seminars with students in the Schreyer Honors College, or teaching honors courses.

Suggest a faculty member for nomination

Past Winners

2018 Charlotte Eubanks Comparative Literature, Japanese, and Asian Studies
2016 Shirley Moody-Turner English and African American Studies
2015 Richard Doyle English
2013 Julia Kasdorf English and Women's Studies
2010 Janet Lyon English
2009 Sherry Roush Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese
2003 J. Philip Jenkins Religious Studies, History
2000 Michael Johnson Sociology, Women's Studies
1998 Phyllis Kernoff Mansfield Women's Studies and Health Education
1997 Paul Harvey, Jr. History, Classics and Ancient Mediterranean Studies
1994 John W. Moore, Jr. English
1992 Larry D. Spence Political Science
1990 Marie J. Secor English
Return to Top